Inspiring Students to Pursue a Career in Science - Wearable Tech Competition Finale


element14 community

Find Experts, Engineers and Enthusiasts. By Engineers for Engineers.

element14 community

Calculators and Conversions

Converting from metric to imperial? Solving for Ohm's law? Farnell provide the conversion ratios you need in everyday calculations.

View Calculators

Inspiring Students to Pursue a Career in Science - Wearable Tech Competition Finale
After three months of hard work from participating schools, it’s nearly time to announce the winning school in the Wearable Tech Competition, organised by Farnell in partnership with Leeds Beckett University and Ahead Partnership Leeds.

We will be announcing the winning school at our competition finale, which will take place at Leeds Beckett University on the 15th March, right in the middle of British Science Week; a symbolic timing to signify the importance of encouraging young talent to pursue careers in STEM disciplines.
This is the second year Farnell have organised this wearable tech competition, and this year more schools have got involved.  Nine schools took up the challenge, a massive increase on the three entrants last year. Participating schools include:

  • Cockburn School, Leeds
  • Guiseley School,  Leeds
  • Leeds West Academy,  Leeds
  • Netherwood ALC, Barnsley
  • Swallow Hill Community College,  Leeds
  • Lightcliffe Academy, Halifax
  • Roundhay School, Leeds
  • Abbey Grange Academy,  Leeds
  • Carleton Community High School,  Castleford
  • John Smeaton Academy,  Leeds

All nine schools have come up with some brilliant and creative design ideas for prototypes built around the CodeBug, a user-friendly development board designed to introduce coding to younger ages (this year’s participants are 12-14 years old).
But which ideas will participating schools pitch to our panel of judges on the 15th March?
Each school will have a stand to showcase their prototypes, commercial application and potential as well as displaying how they went about executing their ideas. There are three prizes:

  1. Winning Design Prize - smart watches for all team members of the winning team plus complete CodeBug kits for their school. (Winning team to be chosen by the panel of judges)
  2. People’s Choice Prize – attendees will vote for this prize and the winning school will receive electronic components and equipment  complementing the new computing curriculum.
  3. Best of the Rest Prize – judges will decide on the design with the best potential in real life applications that did not quite make it due to challenges in execution. (Surprise prize!)

The panel of judges includes Peter Birks (Sales & Marketing President Europe, Premier Farnell), Andrew Robinson (creator of CodeBug), Amy Mather (Digital Girl of the year 2013), Robin Brinkworth, (Senior Lecturer in Product Design, Leeds Beckett University) and Joy Tasker (Senior Lecturer in Engineering, Leeds Beckett University).
We look forward to seeing the ideas these young minds have come up with.  May the best design win!